The NCAA College Football Teams with the Most Championships

The NCAA College Football Teams with the Most Championships

College football started officially naming a National Champion when the AP Poll was created in 1936. Prior to this, every school could just claim they were the best in the country after a solid season. Since sports titles are about proving it on the field, it is hard to take these claimed championships very seriously. These are the seven teams that have won the most NCAA Football Championships.

7. Miami Hurricanes - 5

The Miami Hurricanes are one of only seven teams that have been crowned champions at least five times since the AP Poll era began in 1936. Four of these five titles came within a nine-year period starting in 1983. The Miami Hurricanes may be a historic college team, but they have struggled to find much success since winning it all in 2001. 

6. Nebraska Cornhuskers - 5

The Cornhuskers only had two short periods of dominance, but it ultimately led to five amazing seasons. Bob Deveney propelled Nebraska to titles in 1970 and 1971. Tom Osborne was the head coach in Lincoln when the Cornhuskers were crowned champions in 1994, 1995 and 1997. All five National Champion teams at Nebraska had undefeated seasons. 

5. Ohio State Buckeyes - 6 

Ohio State has a knack for hiring excellent coaches, and it helped the school become NCAA National Champions six times. Paul Brown, Woody Hayes, Jim Tressel and Urban Meyer are all legendary coaches, and all four led the Buckeyes on at least one title run. 

4. USC Trojans - 7

USC always had a solid program, but they did not rise to the top until legendary coach John McKay took over in 1960. McKay led the Trojans to four National titles during his 16 years at USC. The school returned to prominence when Pete Caroll was hired in 2001. His ability to bring NFL-caliber players to Southern California helped the Trojans win consecutive crowns in 2003 and 2004. 

3. Oklahoma Sooners - 7

Oklahoma has one of the oldest programs in the country, but they did not lift a trophy until 1950. Coach Bud Wilkinson led the team to two more titles in the 1950s. The Sooners had another dominating run under Barry Switzer when they won back-to-back titles in 1974 and 1975. Recently retired coach Bob Stoops helped Oklahoma win their last championship in 2000 despite losing two games. 

2. Notre Dame Fighting Irish - 8

Notre Dame had a dominating run in the 1940s under coach Frank Leahy. The Fighting Irish won four titles in a seven year period during this time. They have added four more titles since the commanding run. Notre Dame's last NCAA title came in 1988 when Lou Holtz led the team to a perfect 12-0 record. 

1. Alabama Crimson Tide - 11

Bear Bryant and Nick Saban are arguably the two most accomplished coaches in college football history, and they both spent extensive time at Alabama. Bryant and Saban account for 10 of the 11 titles in Alabama's rich history. If Saban spends the rest of his career in Tuscaloosa, then it safe to say that Alabama will add at least one more title in the near future.

Intriguing Week 5 NCAA Football Matchups and Week 4 Recap

Intriguing Week 5 NCAA Football Matchups and Week 4 Recap

5 Games to Watch - NCAAF Week 4

5 Games to Watch - NCAAF Week 4